Monday, February 4, 2013

Super Bowl 2013: Why Jacoby Jones Deserved MVP

Quarterbacks have earned the title of “Super Bowl MVP” 25 times out of 46 games. Over the last 10 Super Bowls games played  the QB has won it 7 times ( Tom Brady, Peyton Manning, Eli Manning (twice), Drew Brees, Aaron Rodgers, and Joe Flacco), WR has won it 3 times (Deion Branch, Hines Ward,  and Santonio Holmes).
The award almost always goes to the QB position. It’s not as if there aren’t other deserving players on that field. The thought is “ok so he caught 400 yards BUT the QB threw him the ball”.
While it’s fair to argue no position is more important to a team’s success than Quarterback, it’s also fair to argue that voters have shown a bias and in some cases have blatantly disregarded other worthy candidates. 
I’m not saying that Flacco didn’t play well, but he didn’t do anything extraordinary for the QB position. He didn’t do anything that we hadn’t seen in the Super Bowl before. He was regular and reliable.
Wide receiver Jacoby Jones on the other hand…had a record night.
Flacco finishes with 287 yards passing.  The guy who perhaps should have won the award finished with three more.
Jacoby Jones had a Super Bowl-record 290 combined yards, via 56 receiving yards and 234 return yards, including the longest play and longest kickoff return in Super Bowl history (108 yards).
The two best plays of the game by either team were the Jones “oops you didn’t touch me” TD and the 108 yard kick return.
Both players had great games. There is a separating factor tho…Jacoby Jones is in the Super Bowl record books now..Flacco's not. I’m just saying.
As a matter of fact, I could even make a small case for Anquan Boldin, but I have to face is it... in a Super Bowl, the tie goes to the QB. That is just a fact.
Super Bowl MVP's By Position
Running Back
Wide Receiver
Defensive End
Defensive Tackle
Kick Returner/Punt Returner

Follow me : @beautyofsports

No comments: